My Experience of Participating in #2Article1Week Challenge

My Experience of Participating in #2Article1Week Challenge

Introduction

This post is about my experience of participating in #2Article1Week Challenge. I came across this challenge after I joined Hashnode when I found these attractive badges in the profiles of some of the developers.

If you ask me how I came to know about Hashnode, let me give credit to Akshay Saini whom I've been following on Linkedin for some months now. I've simply been blown away by a wonderful series on Javascript- Namaste JavaScript created by him on Youtube. One of his LinkedIn posts linking to his blogpost in Hashnode Pseudo Learning dragged me to this platform and the rest is history!

Lucky Day: 2nd March 2022

Before I start sharing my journey of being a participant in #2Article1WeekChallenge, I can't contain my excitement to share so many surprises that I received on 02.03.2022.

1.222 Day Strike in DuoLingo German App

It was a 222-day strike for me in DuoLingo German Learning App. In other words,I've been learning German every day for 20-30 minutes for the last 222 days continuously without missing a single day!

I love coming across angel numbers or repeating numbers accidentally. On researching about 222 , from this site, I came to know that

222 symbolizes faith and harmony. It heralds a new era in your life and ushers in fresh possibilities. Every aspect of your life should be in harmony with one another.

After reading the above note, I was expecting some surprises which definitely came my way!

02.03.2022.png

2. Badges of #2Article1Week Challenge

The second surprise that I got was receiving silver and gold badges for #2Article1Week Challenge in hashnode after publishing this blogpost-Why would I like/want to be a computer programmer?

Badge_hashnode.png

I was on seventh heaven. Now, I've all 3 badges of this challenge. I was happy beyond comprehension.

all_badges.png My blog: Coding Concoction

3. 1 year of Anniversary in Google Map

The next surprise that I received in this series was a mail from the team of Google Map for congratulating me for having contributed pics, reviews,s, etc. to Google Map as Local Guide. I wish that I get more and more opportunities to travel the world and capture beautiful pictures from different places. Tweet

4. Workplace's Achievement

In my office, I was able to find the bugs in the backend coding of the software that I'm working on and fixed it, thus making it work as expected. It gave me great confidence to move forward with solving other issues.

5. Personal Achievement

I received a piece of wonderful news from my husband on my way back home. We informed our families and celebrated it with a lot of mouth-watering delicacies.

Motivation: Why I Participated in #2Article1WeekChallenge

I've always wanted to start writing in a technical blog so as to document my journey of learning Qt which I may also have to refer to, in the future. I considered this challenge as a great opportunity to keep the habit of technical writing alive. It was the time when I had created an account on Twitter to participate in #100DaysOfX challenges. So, I thought "why not give this challenge a try!"

I published my first blogpost on Dec 22, 2021 - The first checkpoint of my recent cute journey for wrapping up my journey of completing my probation period in my current job. I've now included technical writing in my #100DaysOfWriting challenge [which has covered 50 days already].

Non-Technical Blogging Vs Technical Blogging

I've been blogging since the sophomore year of my college. It has been 9 years that I've blogged in Creative-Constellation. That's a personal blog that I've dedicated for articles, poetry,reviews-book and movies, fiction, non-fiction, etc. It has become an effortless process for me to write non-technical stuff after devoting a lot of time to it. So, I believed that a technical blogpost would require much effort. So, I wanted to experience the difference between blogging in technical and non-technical domains.

2Article1WeekChallenge.png

Planning and setting Target

I was targeting to get this badge by the end of April 2022 but receiving it almost 6 weeks before the target feels magical! I knew that I might face writer's block very often for writing in a technical blog. So, there must be a driving factor at the initial stage to fuel up my writing spirit and this #2Article1Week acted like a catalyst for me in this process. I had prepared drafts of a few blog posts for the next 4 weeks so that I don't miss out on the deadline for publishing. 2Article_1WeekChallenge.png

My experience

My experience has been awesome at this platform. I was motivated by the energy and enthusiasm of the developers to sharpen their skills, share knowledge and create interesting apps for the users. I was inspired by reading the struggle stories of many developers and acing interviews to get placed in their dream jobs.

My Takeaways from this challenge

1.Canva

I'm a creative person. I've always wondered about how people are so skilled at designing interesting and attractive banners using Canva. To be skilled at anything, one will have to explore that area as much as possible. So, I tried to give time to exploring Canva. I won't say that I'm perfect at it but I'm gradually improving and growing.

2. Meeting other developers

I'm yet to explore the works of different developers in this platform but these are some of the developers [whose names come to my mind at this moment] whose works or methodology inspired me to be consistent and better than my past self.

Victoria Lo - I love her writing style. Her blog posts are descriptive yet concise in their own way. She's not distracted in presenting her viewpoints. How meticulously she writes by taking care of every aspect of the post to engage the readers!

Chris Bongers 700 days of blogging is a great achievement in itself. It shows the power of compounding which many of us might have read in texts. He has inspired many developers like me on this platform to be consistent. I realized that it's possible to maintain consistency in anything we do provided we realize the distractions and take actions to get rid of them.

Shahriar - I came across his designs in CodePen. I am simply blown away by his creativity and crystal clear implementation. There's no confusion. I can hardly move on to hi next design from the previous one without leaving a comment. That's why I regard him as a CSS Bot for creating great designs at his age.

That's all for this post. I hope that your journey in Hashnode becomes one of the most interesting journeys!

Let's connect through Twitterand Quora

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Swati Sarangi by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!