SQL & Relational Databases

SQL & Relational Databases

Notes from the course of Metropolia University, Finland

·

2 min read

🔆Introduction

I have always tried to summarize the contents of the courses that I take in the form of notes which help me to revise the concepts easily during any exam or interview. As I am taking a course SQL & Relational Database from Metropolia University, Finland, I'm going to share the notes of each chapter of this course through this series. After realizing the importance of notes in soft copy format over hard copy ones, what could be a better idea to publish them in this blog for the benefit of myself as well as others?

🔆Overview of this course

This course contains 18 chapters as written below:

  1. Introduction to Relational Database

  2. Introduction to Relational Model

  3. Introduction to Database Design

  4. Introduction to SQL

  5. Creating Database and tables

  6. Adding new and updating existing data

  7. Simple SELECT Queries

  8. Sorting Results

  9. Continuation to the Relational Model

  10. Continuation to Database Design

  11. SQL Aggregate Functions

  12. Aggregate Functions and GROUP BY

  13. AS-keyword

  14. JOINS and Multi-table Queries

  15. Views and Relations

  16. Normalisation

  17. More on WHERE Clauses and Table Definitions

  18. SQL-injection

This course also contains some quiz questions at the end of each chapter to complete to check the understanding of the chapters read.

🔆Strategy

My strategy to complete this course would be to devote some time each day to finish at least one chapter and take notes of important points in my blog posts. So, I want to dedicate the next 3 weeks to this course.

🔆Conclusion

I believe in the power of consistency and compounding. I am trying to put my efforts in a bit size to complete all pending tasks. So, documenting my journey in completing this course will serve as a reminder to me in the future to apply such techniques to break into my habit of procrastination.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Swati Sarangi by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

Â