Why would I like/want to be a computer programmer?

Why would I like/want to be a computer programmer?

Questioning my motivation

Introduction

“The scientist is not a person who gives the right answers, he's one who asks the right questions.” ― Claude Levi-Strauss

There have been several quotes about questioning for questions are important aspects of learning. As aptly quoted below,

“Ask me no questions, and I'll tell you no fibs.” ― Oliver Goldsmith, She Stoops to Conquer

Until we question the one we're learning from or ourselves, we will never be able to understand the motive behind the learning. This question has been picked up from the famous book Programming Principles and practices by Bjarne Stroustrup while I was going through this book to brush up on my concepts of C++. So ,I'm putting the exact question.

Reasons

Here are the reasons that came from asking this question :

1. Improving logical thinking

I've always loved logic. That may be because of my love for Mathematics. Programming helps me to logically approach a problem.

2.Enjoying Competitive Coding

Quite recently I've started enjoying competitive coding which I think is the best way to learn a programming language. Learning a programming language is all about practicing all that I've learned. Then only I will be able to get a grasp of the concepts learned and familiar with the syntax. I've registered myself in so many competitive coding platforms but am active in only a few websites. The platforms that I actively use for practicing competitive coding are - Leetcode, Lintcode,Hackerrank,LearnSQL.

3. Current Job Role

I'm currently working as a software developer in an Electronics company based in UK,USA and HK. My current role expects me to have expertise in Qt based on C++. So, I am trying to get a hang of Qt by experimenting with Qt Creator during my spare time. I'm enjoying my work and workplace.

4. Expanding Educational Background

I hold a Masters Degree in Electrical Engineering specializing in Power Electronics. I've used MATLAB for coding and simulink for simulating circuits. I've always wanted to integrate the knowledge of coding for building applications to be utilized in the field of Electrical Engineering. During my journey of coding, I learned Python,SQL,C++ which expands my background and versatility.

5. Creating an impact

This is a world of technology and automation which has led to the inception of more and more softwares. It's almost impossible to imagine life without any software. How simplified these softwares have made our lives! I always feel grateful for those developers who have toiled day and night to bring out software in the market keeping an eye on the requirements of the users. So, I aspire to create an impact in the world through my contribution to software development.

I always think I am a beginner and I've a long way to go in the field of software development in terms of knowledge and experience but I feel that this journey is going to be very exciting for me.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Swati Sarangi by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!