Useful resources for developers

Useful resources for developers

Article for Week-2 [Deadline 29.08.2022]

Introduction

I must thank the Hashnode team for helping me to bring out another article to life from my drafts. In this article, I will share the resources that I used last year to strengthen my concepts in C++,Python and SQL about which I was very passionate.

Websites to learn from

As I was working with C++ Qt, I often needed to refer few websites which are mentioned below.

  1. Geeksforgeeks
  2. W3School
  3. CPPReference
  4. LearnCPP
  5. Qt
  6. Qt Forum for discussion
  7. QtCentre for discussion

Coding Platforms

Interactive coding platforms for competitive coding or learning programming

  1. Programiz-CPP Online compiler
  2. DataCamp
  3. Edabit
  4. Mathworks for MATLAB Cody
  5. LintCode
  6. LeetCode
  7. Hackerrank
  8. HackerEarth
  9. DataQuest 10.FreeCodeCamp
  10. LearnSQL
  11. Top Coder
  12. BitDegree

Books or blogs I referred to

  1. Programming: Principles and Practices using C++ by Bjarne Stroustrup
  2. Pycoder's Weekly
  3. Hashnode
  4. Software Development from A to Z

For projects and Hackathons

  1. Devpost
  2. Hashnode
  3. Devfolio

IDEs I used

  1. VSCode
  2. Eclipse
  3. QtCreator
  4. Anaconda
  5. Codepen

Final Thoughts

Mastering any programming language requires practice as practice makes one perfect. There are different online discussion forums or Discord channels where people discuss their assignments, projects, or doubts. There are tons of free videos on YouTube which are beneficial for beginners and can be referred to when needed. The only challenge is getting distracted in the ocean of resources. To avoid being distracted while coding, one should use either Pomodoro techniques or cut off distracting elements from the surrounding. He should set a timeline for dedicated hours of study weekly wise or monthly wise, whichever is preferred.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Swati Sarangi by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!